Shef's Kitchen

Food and Cooking Stories from an Indian-American girl nicknamed Shef

Cuddle up with a Roti September 2, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — shefskitchen @ 5:23 pm

Soft and fluffy. Pillowy. I really like that descriptive term for some Indian flatbreads though it is commonplace.  The rotis I made yesterday really were from one of the best atta flour brands that I’ve found in the Austin Indian market. I’ve tried many, but I have liked Sujata brand quite a bit. Makes a very very soft dough that is almost hard to work with. I’ve had to use a bit extra all-purpose flour to help roll them out with my veland (Indian rolling pin).  I also sometimes add milk to the flour for a bit of extra fat to work with (and a bit of protein and calcium), or just substitute milk for all of the water.  So, they weren’t the thinnest rotis I’ve ever made, but the airiness and texture was worth it.  And I crumbled ‘em up this morning with gol (jaggery) for one of my kid’s lunchbox.

 

8 Responses to “Cuddle up with a Roti”

  1. amee Says:

    Great photo! I never thought of using milk! Thanks for the tip! I will check out Sujataben. :)

  2. luckyfatima Says:

    Hello, great to know about Sujata Ata. Please do keep up posting tips on where to find the best products. I am new-ish to Austin and still exploring, could use some guidance.

  3. Mo Says:

    Love the photo!

  4. [...] Houston after a lovely dinner of roti/chappati and undhiyoo, a vegetable curry made of 15 different vegetables and chickpea flour and [...]

  5. [...] Indians make these breads more often than South Indians, but modern day Southies make or purchase chappatis often too, because of the slightly increased health benefits over plain white rice.  Disposing of [...]

  6. [...] peanut butter, tasty as a snack with masala chai, and they even suffice as a substitute for naan or chappattis with dinner. They may not be the healthiest Indian bread, but they’re certainly not the most [...]


Leave a Reply

