Shef's Kitchen

Food and Cooking Stories from an Indian-American girl nicknamed Shef

I HEART PANI PURI September 17, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — shefskitchen @ 2:43 am

My all-time favorite Indian food is this dish. I’ve had it twice this week and had about 25-30 with each sitting which is next to nothing for the average PP fiend.  Tap into the center of one of the crunchy puffy puris, stuff it with a black salt spiced yam and black chick pea mash, bob the vessel into a bowl of spicy but refreshing icy mint water and submerge it into the lake of green, dollop with tamarind-date chutney, then gently pop the whole thing into your mouth.  It’s a combination of flavors and textures (water in dough?) that most would say wouldn’t work. Yet they work so well: spicy, sweet, sour, cooling, liquid, crunchy, nutty, savory, satiating. My all-time favorite. Found on the streets of India in virtually every region. And in the homes of many Indian-American cooks.

 

5 Responses to “I HEART PANI PURI”

  1. Rajal Says:

    your post is making me very hungry!

  2. Amee Says:

    Very descriptive! I can taste it already!

  3. My favorite as well! I can get them in the Seattle area but only with a 20-30 minute drive. Wish they were closer.

  4. Sanket Says:

    If I had a rupee for every time I ate these on the street in India and thought to myself “this time for sure I will NOT get Montesanjay’s Revenge after eating this” – well, I would have a dollar or two ;)


Leave a Reply

