Shef's Kitchen

Food and Cooking Stories from an Indian-American girl nicknamed Shef

The Paleo and Vegetarian Meal Plan Challenge, Part 3 February 7, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — shefskitchen @ 10:58 pm
Tags: , , ,

Readers, readers:

You must be thinking that I failed on my mission to attempt this challenge described in a post back in late November (gasp!).

You may be thinking that the carb-loaded holidays and time well-spent on social matters got the best of me.

You may have thought “good riddance, I’d rather see some new recipes!”.

And you may be tired of reading all those “Happy New Year, Let’s Get Healthy” blog posts, journal articles, and ads for gym memberships that make you wonder why now? Why in January only do I need to be thinking of healthy eating?

Well clearly, I had been thinking of healthy eating in November, right around the time that I  usually load my refrigerator with high quality expensive butter, stuff my pantry with bags of the whitest flour I can find, and fill my sugar canister with the most processed white sweet sand I can.

Yes, the baking season got to me. And so I lapsed into a month of baking and entertaining, interspersed with an increase in cooking classes.

I’m back to tell you that I DID indeed finish that month long Paleo challenge. But it was discontinuous. Nevertheless, I did it!

We are going on 3 months now and we’ve been managing OK. I’ve been purchasing prepared food (mostly the meat/protein course) more often than I used to, and I have gradually decreased how many vegetables I cook any given day (3 is ideal for us).  I know that is not ideal, but with increased teaching recently and increased recipe testing, I’ve been cooking loads of Indian dishes—the traditional way.

Here are 3 meal plans I have had in the recent weeks that fit the Paleo/Vegetarian Duo in my family.  If you’re just tuning in, the Paleo diet discourages rice/grain/lentils, encouraging heavy amounts of vegetables and generous portions of meat.

Purple Cauliflower from the Austin Farmers Market

  • Meatless Monday:    Vegetarian Pasta (Mr. Paleo out)
  • Tuesday:                        Roast Chicken with Sumac and Za’atar, Sauteed Kale, Roasted Broccoli and Moroccan Lentils
  • Wednesday:                 OUT (extracurricular activities)
  • Thursday:                      Vegetable Stir-Fry w/ Mustard Seeds & Curry Leaves, Spinach Dal (purchased prepared meat)
  • Friday:                            Lamb Curry with Cauliflower “Rice”, Squash Curry, Basmati Rice

Cauliflower Rice, a popular Paleo recipe

Another week:

  • Meatless Monday:   Roasted Butternut Squash Wedges dipped in Hummus, Prepared falafels, Israeli couscous/Tofu
  • Tuesday:                       Bison Kheema, Butternut Squash Curry, Frozen Homemade Stuffed Rotis (Indian flatbreads)
  • Wednesday:                OUT
  • Thursday:                     Persian Chicken (Khoresh Fesenjan) with Lentil/Rice Khichdi; Eggplant Salad with Pomegranate
  • Friday:                            Pizza Night and leftovers for Mr. Paleo
And the last one:
  • Meatless Monday:      Kids and I out at a cafe
  • Tuesday:                          Taco Night with vegetable and protein assortment
  • Wednesday:                  Quinoa Khichri (mildly spiced lentil Indian “porridge); Lamb Curry (again! I was testing)
  • Thursday:                      Roasted Root Vegetables like Parsnips/Carrots/Butternut Squash/Beets + Rotisserie Chicken
  • Friday:                             Quinoa Cornbread; Sauteed Kale and Cashews; Veggie Chili; Leftovers for Mr. Paleo

Quinoa Cornbread

I am probably finished writing about this meal challenge. I’ll write an update in a few months if I’ve come up with a better strategy to making meals work more efficiently for the dietary variations within our family!

 

5 Responses to “The Paleo and Vegetarian Meal Plan Challenge, Part 3”

  1. Mohit Goyal Says:

    great post, and those meals sound amazing!

  2. amee Says:

    sounds like hard work and diligence…and planning! the purple cauliflower looks awesome!

  3. nilong vyas Says:

    i like this post…but i want RECIPES!!! it does no good to me this way….would love to see the quinoa cornbread recipe. :)

  4. Valentina Says:

    that purple cauliflower is absolutely gorgeous! :-)


Leave a Reply

